Skip to content
Points & Prime

Black Friday

Which Amazon deal event to buy on

The rate does not change between events. The price and the return window do, and that is the whole decision.

A person marking a date on a paper calendar with a pen

The short answer

Black Friday, Cyber Monday or the October event?

The rewards rate is identical across all three. Chase publishes no event-specific rate, so the card pays 5% back at Amazon on all of them. The only things that genuinely differ are the prices, the membership requirement on one event, and how long you have to spot a mistake afterward.

The fixed part

The 2026 calendar, which nobody has to announce

Thanksgiving is the fourth Thursday in November. The federal holiday calendar lists it as Thursday, November 26, 2026 (U.S. OPM — federal holidays, verified 2026-09-06), which fixes the rest of the week without any retailer needing to say so:

The 2026 calendar dates, derived from the published federal holiday.
DayDate in 2026
ThanksgivingThursday, November 26
Black FridayFriday, November 27
Small Business SaturdaySaturday, November 28
Cyber MondayMonday, November 30

Source: U.S. OPM — federal holidays · verified 2026-09-06

The unfixed part

What Amazon had actually published when we checked

This is the part most seasonal guides get wrong by writing confidently about dates nobody has announced. Here is exactly what Amazon’s own event pages said when we last read them, with the date of each reading attached:

Black Friday. Black Friday is an Amazon deal event from November 20-28 (the 2025 edition — the wording Amazon's page still carried when we read it) (Amazon — Black Friday page, verified 2026-09-15)

Cyber Monday. Cyber Monday is an Amazon deals event on November 29 - December 1 (the 2025 edition — the wording Amazon's page still carried when we read it) (Amazon — Cyber Monday page, verified 2026-09-15)

Prime Big Deal Days. Prime Big Deal Days is Amazon's deal event on October 6-7 exclusively for Prime members, featuring two days of epic deals ahead of the holiday season (the 2026 edition, now published on Amazon's page) (Amazon — Big Deal Days page, verified 2026-09-15)

Read those three carefully, because they are not in the same state. Prime Big Deal Days is confirmed for 2026 — Amazon published the October 6-7 window on its own page. Black Friday and Cyber Monday are not. Those two pages still carried their 2025 wording when we re-read them, so the November 20-28 and November 29 - December 1 windows above describe last year’s editions, not this year’s.

Two things follow. First, the useful pattern: Amazon has been running these as multi-day windows that begin before the headline date, so “Black Friday” at Amazon has not been a single Friday for years. Second, the honest limit: an unannounced window is whatever Amazon eventually publishes on those same pages. Check them rather than trusting any article, including this one, for a date.

Sources: Amazon — Black Friday page · Amazon — Cyber Monday page · Amazon — Big Deal Days page · verified 2026-09-15

Side by side

What actually differs between the three

The three events compared on the things that are knowable rather than predicted.
October deal eventBlack FridayCyber Monday
Membership requiredYes, Prime members only per AmazonNot stated as members-onlyNot stated as members-only
Prime Visa rate at Amazon5% back5% back5% back
Time to spot a price drop afterwardLongest — weeks before the November eventsSomeLeast
Return window startsEarliestLaterLatest
Typical duration Amazon has publishedTwo daysAround nine daysAround three days

Sources: Amazon — Big Deal Days page · Amazon — Black Friday page · Amazon — Cyber Monday page · Chase — Prime Visa · verified 2026-09-15

Row two is the row that settles the rewards question and it is deliberately boring. There is no seasonal multiplier to time your buying around. Anyone presenting one should be asked to point at the issuer page that publishes it.

The one real trade-off

Buying early costs nothing and buys you time

Since the rate is constant, the only structural argument between the events is time, and it runs in one direction: earlier is more forgiving. A purchase made in October has weeks in which a further price drop, a better alternative or a change of mind can still be acted on. A purchase made on Cyber Monday has fewer.

The October event has a membership condition attached. Amazon describes it as exclusive to Prime members, and Prime itself is $139 per year (About Amazon — Prime free trial, verified 2026-08-11) annually or $14.99 per month (About Amazon — Prime free trial, verified 2026-08-11) monthly. Whether that membership is worth buying is a separate question with its own arithmetic, which we work through on is Amazon Prime worth it and monthly vs annual. Buying an annual membership to attend a two-day sale is not an obviously good trade, and we would rather say so.

One more scheduling note that has nothing to do with deals. If your Prime membership renews in November or December, that renewal is what keeps the 5% back rate alive during your heaviest Amazon month. Without an eligible membership Chase publishes 3% back at Amazon.com, Whole Foods Market and the participating Amazon stores and sites without an eligible Prime membership (Chase — Prime Visa, verified 2026-08-12).

Sources: About Amazon — Prime free trial · Chase — Prime Visa · verified 2026-08-11

#ad Free trial terms, eligibility and pricing are Amazon's and change without notice. The trial is for customers who qualify under Amazon's current eligibility rules. We earn a flat fee if you sign up through this link, at no cost to you. How we’re paid.

Common questions

Common questions

When is Cyber Monday 2026?
Monday, November 30, 2026. It is the Monday after Thanksgiving, which the federal holiday calendar puts on Thursday, November 26, 2026.
When is Prime Big Deal Days 2026?
October 6-7, 2026. Amazon's own page describes it as a two-day deal event exclusively for Prime members, ahead of the holiday season. It is Amazon's autumn event, separate from Prime Day in July.
Do you earn more cash back on Prime Day or Black Friday?
Neither. Chase publishes no event-specific rate for the Prime Visa, so the earning rate is identical on every day of the year. Only the prices differ.
Should you buy in October or wait for Black Friday?
That is a price question, not a rewards question, and it varies by item. The only structural difference is time: buying earlier gives you longer to notice a price drop, and the return window starts earlier.
Do you need Prime to shop the October deal event?
Amazon describes Prime Big Deal Days as exclusive to Prime members. Black Friday and Cyber Monday deals are not described that way on Amazon's own event pages.

Related

Read next

Written by Stephen V. — An enthusiast who's genuinely into this. I read the terms, compile the published rates, and do the math. No lab coat, no credentials, no test lab.

About this site · How we research · How we’re paid

Last verified: 2026-09-15